Elliot in aion, A BLog

I am so in Aion.

Aion too hardcore or too soft? You decide

This is a very old translation and is most likely outdated. Stop linking it as if its the current numbers. Just appreciate it as one of my past contribution to the community please =] I don’t want to delete my old translations as I go.

Someone actually went out of their way to add up all exp you can get from quests for Elyos.

The total exp refers to the total amount of exp you need to level.

The quest exp refers to the amount of exp you can get if you complete every single quest in game that you can get at that level listed at Powerbook from Aion official homepage. The OP did not include abyss/Poeta(?) quests. It refers purely to the exp given as reward upon turning in. I was also told that this chart is missing several quests. Just take this chart as a general outline.

The grind exp refers to the exp you’d have to get by grinding mobs in order to fill the remaining exp in order to level.

Lvl 10~20

Lvl 20~30

Lvl 30~44

As you can see, the questing start to fade away after lvl 20, when players complain that more repetitive, grindy quests start to appear, then after lvl 30, its almost grind to level.

During open beta, a Chinese player named MS추풍 hit lvl 30 (max lvl at the time) just in 3 days purely out of grinding mobs with Assassin. He skipped all quests due to him not being able to understand Korean. After retail opened he became the first lvl 45 Elyo. He was 2nd place in the whole game however.

A Korean player named 대망 hit lvl 30 like few hours after MS추풍 did with a Templar. He said that he only slept 9 hrs. He did do quests, as his lvl up screenshot shows that he got lvl 30 with a quest completion.

One week after Aion went retail, a guy named 도왕 hit World’s First Lvl 45 as Assassin. He said it took 18 hours for him to just go from 44 to 45. He said he grinded his way up while dualboxing a chanter for heals.

All credit goes to 레미엘 from AionChosun

Edit – To those going die-hard to discredit this info again. Those missing quests/whatever you are referring to does NOT change the shape of this graph. Group quests? If you are a SpiritMaster or a Ranger it’ll be almost impossible to do them since they don’t want you in parties. I can go ahead and find 10 more articles on how Aion turns into a grindfest after lvl 30 (It might not be grindfest for some, but for WoW players, just killing same mobs over and over without quests is a grindfest). People from l2 are saying its fine. Now some people just to go out of there way to prove that its more softcore in fear that some people will be turned off by the grind part. There’s even players confirming that in the comments. Stop trying so hard. The more you try, the more bad stuff I have to find in order to defend my credibility. You guys are just digging your own grave.

___________________________________________________________________

Original Post

Written by elliot

January 6, 2009 at 6:00 pm

57 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Very Very interesting; Thanks elliot! ^_^

    MNZeba

    January 6, 2009 at 6:31 pm

  2. Interesting ! Thank you very much

    Chob

    January 6, 2009 at 11:13 pm

  3. Woah…..That sucks!

    Valentina

    January 6, 2009 at 11:52 pm

  4. Good mix of grinding and questing.

    dalavita

    January 6, 2009 at 11:54 pm

  5. He is only considering the rewards, while doing the quests you obtain XP out of mobs. Without counting the abyss and that, he’s obviously missing a lot of XP. He’s probably missing the secret quests also (those that fall from mobs or that you obtain after exploring, like the books one in pandemonium). That being said, there are certain levels which require to grind indeed, but it didn’t seem as bad as those charts state for me.

    Oh, a Temple of fire round gives about 25% XP at level 30ish, so sharing quests with instances is the way to go.

    Flv

    January 7, 2009 at 12:01 am

  6. Oh, and I’ve seen in the original post they took it from powerbook, powerbook lacks a lot of quests, specially in Tier 4.

    Flv

    January 7, 2009 at 12:09 am

  7. Interesting….as my spiritmaster is lvl29 atm it seems to me I either missed out a lot of quests or there really are 5-6(abyss included, repeatables (very little xp) excluded). Although I’m totally soloing unlike most of the people :D so that makes my char miss out on the party quests (hella hard sometimes…)

    Cori

    January 7, 2009 at 2:05 am

  8. Although it is not as bad as this chart would indicate, the hoped “quest your way up to max lvl” element is definitely not there. But again, they released an earlier client with unfinished maps, they can add new content there anytime they want.

    Lyana

    January 7, 2009 at 2:27 am

  9. WTF, what’s this about?! Some aion communities want to advertise themselves here? oO”

    @Elliot, thanks for translating!

    aeon

    January 7, 2009 at 4:24 am

  10. Shweet, thanks for translating xD

    SoraNashimi

    January 7, 2009 at 4:56 am

  11. Seems like a heavy influence on the abyss at level 25 and over, which does coincide with when you can enter the abyss..

    Just hoping my realm won’t be steamrolled by the other on my server.

    Entice

    January 7, 2009 at 5:20 am

  12. LOL PPL SAY U NEGETIVE I THINK U SEXY BBY<3 dnt wry ;) ;)

    lol

    January 7, 2009 at 6:26 am

  13. Do you work at Blizzard?

    Ryo

    January 7, 2009 at 7:06 am

  14. Aeon, it’s called a “linkback” and it’s automatically done by WordPress if you have it enabled.

    Mark

    January 7, 2009 at 8:55 am

  15. Got quite surprised too. When I entered abyss (straight after I did the preq at 25) I only got a few quests to do and then 2 repeatable (whereas 1 of them is way better exp wise than the other). so Yeah, I’ve grinded the same mobs and done the same q over and over again and am about to ding 27. Hopefully more unlocks at 27 because it’s becoming quite boring ^^,

    persepha

    January 7, 2009 at 10:57 am

  16. if I remember correctly you could either level by doing quests or just grind.. Even if you get more exp and quests are missing there.. It seems to me it is still on avarage 70% grind every level? Guess the old statement is not true then.. This is a disappointment for me big time..

    Azania

    January 7, 2009 at 11:31 am

  17. Azania, the colors switch between the charts (very confusing, I know). So no, not 70% every level. And yes, there are quest exp rewards missing from those charts, so they aren’t 100% accurate (afaik).

    Mark

    January 7, 2009 at 12:46 pm

  18. //Azania, Mark
    even though the chart is incorrect, the old “you can lvl up only by questing” statement is still false. Hopefully they will start adding more quests soon.

    Lyana

    January 7, 2009 at 1:02 pm

  19. The real question is how does mop xp scale in relation to the xp you need to get to the next level?

    Looking at the charts I can already tell this game is not for me at all. Grinding in MMOs is becoming more and more unacceptable yet this is all this game is going to be even if the chart is off. It’s all a giant time sink that screams “We have no game.”

    Add in the horrible class balance and it gets even worse. People hope that they will fix all this when it release in NA, but I would not get my hopes up for that. With the lawsuit that NC Soft is about to go through you can bet they will cut costs on a lot of their games if they really want to win it.

    I could be wrong and I hope I am. We will see.

    Iron Tiger

    January 7, 2009 at 2:35 pm

  20. grindfest? not with people doing the 1-45 levels in a month. I am not actually a proponent of the game, I think it’s pretty, it’s interesting but I am relatively sure i will get bored with it within a few months. All that aside though, anyone saying a month or even 3 months to get to the top level is a grindfest needs to go back to FPS games. 1-3 months to reach endgame material (be there any or not)is not a grind fest. required exp is only important if the exp per hour doesn’t keep up as you level, there should be a curve but it shouldn’t shape up to be a wall. Anyway good article Elliot, too bad your readership can’t keep information in perspective.

    Aarioch

    January 7, 2009 at 5:16 pm

  21. //Mark, Lyanna

    They should it would satisfy both eastern and western players by saying you could level by only doing quests, grind or both. Even if 70% grind is false and it is less, it is still not 0%, or below 50%, esp the later levels which atm shows 80~90% grind (taking missing quests into account)..

    That is what is disappointing me atm a lot!. To many games have this already including Perfect World which this games seems to look like more and more almost.. (even crafting based on luck).. There it was the exact same isssue, leveling by quests went fine till lvl 40 (you could easily get lvl 20 in 1 day) and from there on it quickly became grind more and more every level..

    Azania

    January 7, 2009 at 6:11 pm

  22. Even though seems alot beetwen xp from quests and mob but real question is what game dont u have grind?
    grind isnt only for lvl but also for gear.
    what the point on reaching cap lvl if u have to continue to grind for gear?
    What game u have atm that u get cap lvl fast and top gear in same time?

    Hugo

    January 7, 2009 at 7:15 pm

  23. Good balance between quests & grind mobs. I really take this thread as a good one.
    Hence, don’t forgot about Abyss quests where it gives alot of xp and also you can get good xp from dungeons.
    Also this is a quote from someone on AionSource “Most of the T4 quests aren’t in the powerbook yet, so 30-45 has a lot more quests than what he has stated”.

    IceAge

    January 7, 2009 at 9:28 pm

  24. And in comparison with DAOC and its days/weeks of grind in Avalon between two quests? (without PL of course).

    Mygo

    January 7, 2009 at 10:47 pm

  25. Thanks for all the new articles!!!

    The grind is not really that bad for me, I see it as a chance to build up my bank account so I can buy nicer items ^^. The item drop rate is pretty decent too so I usually always get rewarded with some greens (even a blue a couple times!) every level or so which makes the grinding pretty rewarding =D

    Anirk

    January 8, 2009 at 2:01 am

  26. whatever Elliot, keep proving you’re not better than those who you’ve been blaming if you aren’t able to accept opinions.

    Flv

    January 8, 2009 at 6:04 am

  27. People from WoW are thinking dam : (
    People from L2 are thinking ‘you make me laugh’

    xP

    elliot

    January 8, 2009 at 6:05 am

  28. //flv
    What are you doing whining on my blog at 6 in the morning

    elliot

    January 8, 2009 at 6:06 am

  29. Im european, it’s 12:00 here.

    And I’m not whining, I’ve posted a legitimate opinion and you’ve just found yourself unable to counter it, therefore you edited (now that was funny) and later deleted it. Why can’t we have a normal conversation? You have your sources and I have mine.

    Flv

    January 8, 2009 at 6:09 am

  30. I’m sorry what did you say in the last comment? it just exited my memory stream : (
    I’m not trying to be anything. I really can’t remember.

    btw is this FLeiva?

    elliot

    January 8, 2009 at 6:14 am

  31. Ive said that you can ignore one of the best sources of XP (quest groups) Just because the current balance of classes screws Rangers and Spiritmasters, It would have been better if you just stated that those charts are indeed ignoring those quests instead of trying to justify it IMHO.

    And I’ve also said that I consider the edit as a way to clarify that these news are indeed negative after the replies obtained in Aionsource and here, which seemed to accept those charts.

    Also, Powerbook lacks around 90% of the quests in Tier 4, the original article is based in powerbook, therefore, those charts are missing most of the post 30 quests.

    I’m not denying that the information stated pre-edit was true, as long as you state the terms, that is.

    Flv

    January 8, 2009 at 6:19 am

  32. I believe the OP thought it was to best to create an exp chart that was going to apply to every person. Not just the lucky individuals who picked the right classes or were in a great guild or happened to be on the winning side of the RvR.

    I’m trying to justify it because the missing data does not change the shape of the graph significantly, and some people here are trying to pass it off as if it a table-turner. Talk to any lvl 45s, and they’ll tell you what this graph tells you.

    NCsoft did try to make Aion somewhere in the middle in between L2 and WoW. This chart shouldn’t be surprising at all.

    elliot

    January 8, 2009 at 6:32 am

  33. It’s a design style indeed, it isn’t WoW, where you can do everything by your own easily, but I can guarantee that pre-20 I didn’t grind once (excepting a group in the Mau’s camp when we killed the RB) so those charts indeed seem a bit off to me. I also found myself in troubles when I went to the powerbook in order to keep my post 30 progression being unable to find most of the quests I was getting (I check symbols and level in order to identify which quest I’m about to do) I’m talking about Belusran, or whatever it’s spelled like.

    Aion encourages groupping, almost “enforces” it if you consider these charts as negative, the only concern I have with your post is that you could have stated the terms clearly, just as you did with the abyss quests.

    Other than that, I trully appreciate your work, no need to look at me as an enemy.

    Flv

    January 8, 2009 at 6:38 am

  34. I’m not quite sure whats so off about them. Those charts do not include exp gained from killing mobs when you’re going those quests. Those gaps are filled from them. I’m pretty sure that most people can come to that conclusion by themselves.

    Yes, it does encourage grouping because farming elite mobs is always going to be better than farming regular mobs. Funny how NCsoft made some classes so unfit for parties in such game however.

    And yes, I’ll add those terms for better clarification.

    elliot

    January 8, 2009 at 6:53 am

  35. Sorry Elliot but as a Player I highly need to discredit this info…

    E.g. you are telling with your own assumption here that rangers cant be counted for parties? I am playing a ranger myselve and I am doing instances and group quests mosts of the time now… funny thing is it takes me usually around 2-5 min to get an party invite? How can you tell the people that Rangers dont get parties when it actually seems they cry for them and we are highly wanted?

    Where do you get all this wrong informations you then post with your own single minded opinions on a site like this?

    In my eyes NCSoft should shutdown this site because all you do is bashing a game on some informations you try to make right for you and convince people who dont have a chance to judge by themselve?

    You telling people in your disclaimer you would love to translate good articles too but you dont find them? I mean I can just laugh about this – the korean internet is full of awards and great reviews about Aion. All of my Korean friends love this game, because after WoW its the first time we will finally see a new great, very detailed and beautiful made MMORPG world again. I really wonder what you are trying to do with your blog?

    And I wonder who is the fanboi here ;)

    Sorry but you loose more creditable with every post you make…

    But hey, gratulation to you that you still have readers who believe your stuff…

    Oliver

    January 8, 2009 at 8:53 am

  36. Thanks for the translations

    birdman

    January 8, 2009 at 10:35 am

  37. //Oliver

    I’m simply telling what I heard : ) If you want to discredit the whole ranger community including the fan sites that published ranger articles, then Ok. What lvl are you in game?

    Ok. Then go find me some. I already said this so many times. Ask your korean friends. Find me good reviews.

    Yea thank god some people are in their senses.

    elliot

    January 8, 2009 at 3:59 pm

  38. Well Elliot I am Level 36 now, and I perfectly see the level curve and I know I will not be level 45 over the next few days. But I am playing regulary and I am doing instances every day (they give really a lot of XP). The fun thing is at the time I am on its not even prime time in korea, its morning and I am getting party invites in matter of a few seconds to minutes. I really cant tell you about the ranger community… but I can tell you that rangers get parties easily and that my Korean friends all love this game? So maybe the gathering of your information is somehow broken – or you are just talking with hardcore players who have an entirely different view of the game?

    The thing is when I talk to my korean friends they are all having a lot of fun in pve and pvp… and then when I read your blog I almost think we are talking about a different game :). Thats why I ask you, have you played it yourselve? You know that just by reading you can never make yourselve an accurate opinion (just remember what bad things were posted about WoW at the beginning – official forums were full of cries – even though I found the game was already great in the beginning)?
    So everything you here or read is worth nothing if you cant judge by yourselve. Maybe Ill start a blog soon too, to bring some different view of the game ;)

    Thx for listening!

    Oliver

    January 8, 2009 at 5:23 pm

  39. It counters your views so it must be broken?

    By all means go ahead, I’d love to see another Aion blog.

    elliot

    January 8, 2009 at 6:11 pm

  40. Play nice, guize. Make gay love, not hetro war. :D

    Mark

    January 8, 2009 at 6:17 pm

  41. I made some graphs for *all* quests seen in the game for Elyos to compare the difference between solo/group quests etc. Its still not a great ratio, but it shows if you can group its not *that* bad.

    http://www.areyouhellbound.com/forum/f2/translation-grind-vs-questing-467/index3.html#post4883

    Kindred

    January 9, 2009 at 11:52 am

  42. Elliot editing and deleting reader comments? Now, that is irony!

    What were you doing checking your comments at 6am?

    Entice

    January 9, 2009 at 12:49 pm

  43. My own Blog is finally ready now :) It will show a different approach about the “dark side” of Aion. Yes it was you Elliot who inspired me.

    You can find it at http://aioninsider.wordpress.com!

    Lord Devil

    January 9, 2009 at 1:54 pm

  44. //Entice

    It was him accusing me of having an agenda to just bring bad news. I like how you added “s” there. I’m getting so fucking tired of getting jumped at if I even try to fight back.

    elliot

    January 9, 2009 at 2:08 pm

  45. […] game that I thank you! I am looking forward to your next post, regarding whether or not Aion is too grindy or hardcore. It’s an interesting line, the difference between as Elliot puts it, being "hardcore" or […]

  46. I think i’m going to google translate these helpful and positive news from gameshosun and make a blog cause Elliot only translates the bad news

    http://translate.google.fr/translate?hl=fr&u=http%3A%2F%2Faion.gamechosun.co.kr%2Fboard%2Fview.php%3Fbid%3Dissue%26num%3D26656&sl=ko&tl=en

    Chob

    January 9, 2009 at 5:56 pm

  47. Who cares if Elliot translates bad news? Its his blog, he can do what he wants with it. Go make your own blog if you want to post google translated articles.

    Keep it up Elliot, some of us want to see both the good and bad news.

    Kindred

    January 10, 2009 at 8:18 am

  48. He shouldn’t have turned on the comments then.

    Chob

    January 10, 2009 at 9:29 am

  49. Comments are for discussing the article, not for some kid’s random postings. Grow up.

    Kindred

    January 10, 2009 at 10:08 am

  50. They counter your views so they must be kid’s random postings? STFU already

    Chob

    January 10, 2009 at 10:57 am

  51. Shame some people just wont allow others to post negative news, sure it aint gospel and aion aint doomed, but god it aint the end of the world if elliot posts what he finds on the forums and if ya dont like it just get of the blog and go back to living in your pink world where aion is perfect

    the people that do want to know if something is wrong are the reason this blog is being written, cause unlike a few of you we do like the non pink balanced news

    just to add, i know elliot said he couldnt find postive news (which i doubt he meant that litteraly as some of you are taking it, especially as the web is buzzing with it) i just think he meant more postive news on the forums that aint related to reviews and not repeated into oblivion yet

    Alyvian

    January 10, 2009 at 12:56 pm

  52. […] grind info Here some info on how much questing/grinding you need to do: Aion too hardcore or too soft? You decide Read What They Read, See What I See Now we know that you can get to lvl 30 in just 3 days if you are a Chinese with time on your […]

  53. […] appeared within the Korean community, as always, kindly translated and opinionated by Elliot (Aion too hardcore or too soft? You decide)! This chart shows us more or less exactly on how much XP you can get by completing all the quests […]

  54. To be honest if you havent played Aion and your only basing your grounds for defense on heresay and articles of some noob/amatuer players then you lack credibility. You just hate Aion same as those haters.

    ediot

    January 14, 2009 at 9:24 am

  55. you can delete this comment coz you just want praises on your blog.

    “I’m simply telling what I heard : ) If you want to discredit the whole ranger community including the fan sites that published ranger articles, then Ok. What lvl are you in game?”

    Then as what youve said this article/blog is all about heresay. So we as readers can discredit this since it has no credibility as what you mentioned earlier “”I’m simply telling what I heard : )””

    ediot

    January 14, 2009 at 9:30 am

  56. Lol First of all, WordPress has a system where I have to approve of first time commenter before comments show. I am not on my blog 24/7 to approve new comments as they come, sorry.

    Well if you say so. just stop reading. problem solved?

    elliot

    January 14, 2009 at 12:44 pm


Comments are closed.

