Elliot in aion, A BLog

I am so in Aion.

The Ultimate Abyss [Guardian], 햐야덴 of 루미엘 server

Today, we met with Asmodian 하야덴 of Devil Legion from 루미엘 server, the man with 700,000 abyss points. He talked with us briefly about the [Guardian Transformation] and its use in abyss.

Q. Could you give us a brief introduction of yourself and your legion?

I am a 26 yr old student living in 대구. I am currently in Devil legion. Our legion is a raid-oriented legion with some emphasis on socializing : )

Q. It’s quite impressive that you got that much points as a student. How did you do that?

Nothing special really, I basically ate, slept, and ‘abyssed.

charismatic even without the transformation

Q. How long did it take to get to [Rank 5 Lieutenant] from [Rank 9 Soldier]?

I already had [Rank 4 Soldier] during open beta. I got [Rank 1 Soldier] 2 weeks ago, [Rank 2 Lieutenant] last week, and got [Rank 5 Lieutenant] this week.

Q. How much abyss points do you get per day on average?

I really went out of my way this week to get past [Rank 4 Lieutenant]. Based on [Rank 2 Lieutenant] status, I got about 30,000~40,000 points per day. I had 1,993 kills last week.

Rank 5 Lietanent, 722,184 points, and 4421 Total Kills!

Rank 5 Lieutenant, 722,184 points, and 4421 Total Kills!

Q. Was it hard getting that many points? Do you think you can get to Commander in Chief (Top rank)?

One death at [Rank 2 Lieutenant] meant loss of 1,600 points. I was dying about three times a day so I thought it was gonna be really hard at [Rank 5 Lieutenant], but when I got to it and got the [Guardian Transformation], I started to think that I can get there. Oh yeah, and meteorites.. I died to meteorites three times last week.

Q. Ever died as Guardian?

Well, I don’t die unless I get hit by a lot at the same time (focused burst). Oh and I don’t die even if I get hit by meteorites : D I was so happy.

[Guardian Transformation], Looks similar to one in fortresses

Guardian Transformation looked similar to ones in fortresses

Q. Tell us more about the transformation; How is it?

One word; Overpowered. It lasts 20 minutes with 1 hr cooldown. As a cleric, I get to have about 86,000 HP and 150,000 MP. Also, everyone in the area gets notified when I use the transformation. Not only that, whenever I use a lieutenant skill, it broadcasts what I used where. Kind of annoying since I use it every 20 seconds. Then again, the transformation is only usable in abyss.

Q. Do you get increased flight time?

Nope

Q. How overpowered is the Guardian transformation?

I can capture an artifact in lower abyss by myself. I also get this [Abyssal Hurricane] skill. It does 1115~1175 physical damage to 6 targets in 20m radius around myself. It has 20 sec cooldown.

Q. Must be very powerful in Sieges, How is it?

You said it. Since I can spam it every 20 seconds, I get loads of kill and points : )

Q. Many are complaining about [Voice of Destruction], what are your thoughts?

It completely destroys PvP balance. I hope it gets nerfed on next patch. If not, at least make the DoT effect curable with potions.

Q. Exactly how powerful is [Voice of Destruction]?

I think I got around 30,000 points purely out of this skill. If the party doesn’t have a cleric in it, it’s pretty much dead. 18 people at a time. Yeah sure there will be a few that resists it.

Q. Are you satisfied with Aion?

Yes, somewhat, but PvP balance is seriously broken. Overall, everyone dies too easily except templars and clerics. Also, divine stones are way too overpowered.

Asmodian 햐이덴 used Abyssal Hurricane I in Southern 라데스란.

Asmodian 햐이덴 used Abyssal Hurricane I in Southern 라데스란.

Q. Divine stones are overpowered? Why?

Every single divine stone is overpowered. Once the proc effect activates, there is no way to remove it. The rate of proc kicking in and the duration is way too high. I could say that my success was largely due to the divine stones. I used silence and blind stones.

Q. Any last comments?

I really wanted to say this. There’s no real incentive to abyss. Monsters here only range up to lvl 40. If lvl 41+ mobs spawned here and there were some other stuffs, maybe more people would come and there would be more pvp. As of now, its just few lvl 40+ players ganking each other. I really want NCsoft to take this into consideration.

___________________________________________________________

(thanks to zornhau for bringing this article to my attention)

Original Post

Written by elliot

December 23, 2008 at 3:01 pm

9 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Wow, NCSoft really needs to work out the PvP balance.

    Other than that, nice translation Elliot.
    Thx again xD.

    yamivegeta

    December 23, 2008 at 3:29 pm

  2. I realy dont understand dev, its obvious that the class are totaly unbalanced

    i dont know what they did during and after the third Closed Beta

    Fei

    December 23, 2008 at 5:45 pm

  3. OP skills ftl

    Arien

    December 23, 2008 at 8:14 pm

  4. @Fei: they worked on fixing bugs, implementing new features, etc., etc.. Yes, they probably worked on this odd thing called “balance” too. Problem is, “balance” and the status “overpowered” are products of opinions. The system may work exactly how the developers have designed it to, but each player has an opinion of what they think the game should be like. Often these opinions benefit only themselves.

    The problem now is this: will NCsoft bend to the will of complaining players and change the design of their game, or will they ignore players’ opinions and keep the game as it is? This is what happened to Star Wars Galaxies, and we all know how that turned out once SOE started listening to complaints.

    Mark

    December 23, 2008 at 8:18 pm

  5. Well Mark i agree with you but, you just have to read the note of the Skill VoD of the Clerc to see that its OP ^^

    same reuse time and Lv DP.

    -Clerc : healer class : DP skill : 13.000 dmg AoE on 18 players

    -Ranger : DPS class : DP skill : 712dmg on only one target ^^

    for me its obvious but nvm im not dev just a frustrated geek :s

    Fei

    December 23, 2008 at 8:37 pm

  6. Hey, look at this! Patch notes!

    “7. Cleric’s “Voice of Destruction” has had the number of targets reduced from 18 to 12.”

    “8. Cleric’s “Voice of Destruction” can now be completely removed with a High Grade Cure Potion.”

    From http://www.aionsource.com/forum/general-discussion/10121-translation-patch-notes-24-12-08-a.html

    :D

    Mark

    December 23, 2008 at 11:32 pm

  7. Yey light in the tunnel :)
    Merry XMass btw :)

    Arien

    December 24, 2008 at 5:14 am

  8. Really interesting read, thank you!

    persepha

    December 25, 2008 at 10:31 am

  9. Mark, had they kept the “design they intended”, they wouldn’t need to patch. -.-

    birdman

    January 1, 2009 at 10:17 am


Comments are closed.

